Take A Break

As the month of October engulfs us, it means we’re getting down to the nitty-gritty of the school year. 9 week interim’s, fall testing day, and Christmas seems closer than summer break. But as we all bury our heads in our textbooks to get through our academic grind I have one reminder for you; take a break.

The month of October is one of the greatest sports months of the year. Playoff baseball, the NFL, college football, the NBA returns and high school football is in full swing. That’s why it’s important to give yourself some time each day to take a break and watch some sports. I took 15 minutes today to watch game 5 of the ALDS between the Blue Jays and the Rangers and saw 15 minutes of the most exciting baseball I’ve ever seen.

I saw this

And more importantly this

I will remember exactly were I was when I saw Jose Bautista hit a moon shot back over the Canadian border and toss his bat to Saskatchewan 25 years from now. I’ll also remember it was a Wednesday at 7 o’clock and I had a lot of Spanish homework I should’ve been doing.

I’ll remember seeing Le’Veon Bell squirm across the goal line in San Diego .02 seconds before his knee hit the ground on Monday Night Footballl, not the To Kill A Mockingbird test I studied for.

Academics come first, yes, but there has to be a little self indulgence when it comes to watching October sports. Blink,

 and you just might miss the greatest sports month of the year.

Leave a Reply

